The craftsmen and their techniques

Behind each table, the craftsmen

A company committed to the sustainable development of its region

In every decision the craftsmen are committed to the sustainable development of Petit-Saguenay and the Saguenay Fjord area. The company acquired the town’s old grocery store and completely renovated the building, making good use of wood. For Didier and David, renovating this vacant building was also a commitment toward the revitalization of the town center.

While Didier shapes the wood for the tops and the legs, David forges the crosspieces and the parts that will embellish and solidify the tables. Before realizing the final assembly, the pieces of wood are covered with a coat of epoxy resin or a layer of ecological oil finish.

Didier Gaudreault

Wood furniture,
Didier's passion

Didier Gaudreault is a self-taught cabinetmaker gifted with a natural talent. Being a young father, he decides to build his own house using the technique of the post-and-beam framework. His love for wood then becomes clearer. He realizes his first solid wood kitchen table for his own dining room and dreams about being a full-time cabinetmaker.

« Didier sees in each tree layer all the subtleties that will give character to a kitchen table »

David Gaudreault

Blacksmithing,
the art of the Ancients

David Gaudreault has always been passionate about blacksmithing. He acquired most of his knowledge thanks to Denis Lebel a master blacksmith. David has been forging since 2005 and has realized many impressive works. His interest for architecture and for antique furniture shows through his works.

« David’s work exposes laces, volutes and organic patterns »

Live edge tables

Although each table is a unique execution, it always begins with the same step: choosing the tree slice that will be used in its design. At this stage, pieces having an outstanding natural edge are picked. The craftsmen specialize in freeform or live edge tables which means that the form of the tree slice chosen is preserved in order for the the table to keep a natural aspect.

« The natural curves distinguish the live edge tables of Les Ateliers Bois de Fer »


Sustainable products

Not only do the craftsmen use trees from Quebec to make their furniture, but all the yellow birch and maple trees used in making the tables are harvested within a 20-kilometer radius from the workshops, then sawn and kiln-dried by the craftsmen themselves.

The use of solid wood and the quality of assembly techniques provide solidity while ensuring durability. Furniture at Les Ateliers Bois de Fer are designed so that they can be passed from one generation to the next.

« Each table is entirely assembled in Petit-Saguenay with wood from the Saguenay Fjord forests »

Call us 418 608.8585
Visit our
showroom
37 rue Dumas,
Petit-Saguenay

Your cart is currently empty.

Return to shop

Les artisans et leurs techniques

Les artisans derrière les tables

Une entreprise investie dans le développement durable de son milieu

Dans chacune de leurs décisions, les artisans ont à coeur le développement durable de Petit-Saguenay et de la région du fjord du Saguenay. En s’installant dans la bâtisse qui accueillait auparavant l’épicerie de Petit-Saguenay, l’entreprise en a profité pour la rénover complètement en faisant grand usage du bois. Pour Didier et David, recycler ce bâtiment vacant était aussi un engagement dans la revitalisation du coeur du village.

Pendant que Didier façonne le bois pour fabriquer les plateaux et les pattes, David forge les traverses et les pièces qui orneront et solidifieront les tables. Avant de procéder à l’assemblage final, les pièces de bois sont recouvertes d’une couche de résine d’époxy ou d’un fini à l’huile écologique. 

Didier Gaudreault

Le meuble de bois,
une passion pour Didier

Didier Gaudreault est un ébéniste autodidacte aux talents innés. Jeune père de famille, il décide de construire sa propre maison. C’est en utilisant la technique des charpentes en poutres et poteaux que son amour du bois se précise. Il fabrique sa première table de cuisine en bois massif pour sa propre salle à manger et se met à rêver d’en faire un métier.

« Didier voit dans chaque tranche d’arbre toutes les subtilités qui donnent son caractère à une table de cuisine »

David Gaudreault

Forgeron,
l'art des anciens

David Gaudreault a toujours été passionné par la forge d’art. Il a acquis la plupart de ses connaissances grâce au maitre forgeron Denis Lebel. David forge depuis 2005 et a plusieurs imposantes pièces à son actif. Son intérêt pour l’architecture et le mobilier antique transparait dans ses oeuvres.

« Les oeuvres de David arborent des dentelles, des volutes et des motifs organiques »

Des tables de style live edge

Si chaque table est unique, sa réalisation commence toujours par la même étape : le choix des tranches d’arbre qui seront utilisées dans sa conception. À cette étape, on recherche des pièces ayant un côté naturel qui se démarque. Les artisans se spécialisent en effet dans les tables freeform ou live edge, c’est-à-dire que la tranche de l’arbre est conservée pour donner un aspect naturel à la table.

« les tables live edge des ateliers bois de fer se démarquent par leurs courbes naturelles »


Des produits d’une grande durabilité

Les artisans ne se contentent pas d’utiliser du bois du Québec pour fabriquer leurs meubles. Tous les merisiers et les érables qui entrent dans la fabrication des tables ont été buchés dans un rayon de 20 kilomètres de l’atelier, avant d’être sciés et séchés par les artisans eux-mêmes !

La durabilité des tables vient avant tout de l’utilisation de bois franc massif, mais également de la qualité des techniques d’assemblage qui leur assurent une grande solidité. Les meubles des Ateliers Bois de Fer sont faits pour se transmettre de génération en génération.

« Chaque table est assemblée de a à à petit-saguenay avec du bois des forêts du fjord du saguenay »

Appelez nous 418 608.8585
Visitez notre
boutique
37 rue Dumas,
Petit-Saguenay

Votre panier est vide.

Retour aux produits